I assisted at an abortion

Discussion in 'The Signs of the Times' started by AidanK, Sep 11, 2020.

1. AidanK

AidanK A great sinner

Dearly beloved brethren please help me. In 1986 I was a young and naive student nurs undergoing the theatres part of my training. One particular morning I was detailed to be runner during an op on a woman undergoing a "dilation and curette" as stated on procedures list. This op usually referred to as "d and c", is a common procedure for women with menstrual problems. The lining of the womb is scraped in order to reduce heavy periods. While fetching and carrying for the theatre staff , I was unable to observe what was taking place. Then the surgeon dropped a ton of bricks on me by asking at the procedures end if all the "products" had been accounted for. On enquiring what this meant , I was informed that he referred to the "products of conception". Then the reality hit me and as young student nurse desperately needing to pass his exams I felt unable to say anything. At this time abortion was illegal in N Ireland thence it's being termed a "d and c". Later that evening I was sick with the enormity of it all. Despite having confessed and receiving absolution on a number of occasions I am still choked by horrendous guilt about being there. My brethren have you any ideas at all as to how I might manage this guilt? Having said all that, I recognise the true victims here are the tiny infant that suffered this abdominal butchery and its mother. Lord have mercy, Christ have mercy, Lord have mercy.

2. "Quis ut Deus"

"Quis ut Deus" Powers Staff Member

Yes aidin the answer is quite simple you did no wrong and Jesus himself would say those very same words..

Like Simon of cyrene you where simply a passer by who did not want to be part of the crucifiction before your eyes.. God bless you for your testament and may he comfort you in your pain

Malachi, Beloved, Beth B and 6 others like this.
  3. "Quis ut Deus"