1. Welcome to Mother of God Forums - A place dedicated to the Mother of God. Please feel free to join us in prayer and sharing. Please Register to start posting.
    Dismiss Notice

Pc Help

Discussion in 'PC Help.' started by "Quis ut Deus", Jun 4, 2013.

1. "Quis ut Deus"

"Quis ut Deus" Powers Staff Member

Maybe Padraig and co could put this thread into a techy help category..

PC Maintenance
    I’ve been working with computers for over 25 years in my previous job I use to build them from scratch, before the recession hit I was self employed as a call out technician for the home user, In my experience the biggest issue with home computers is the numerous complaints “my pc is so so slow”
    I will list a few simple steps on how to rectify that problem and help keep your pc in tip top shape…

Number one overheating
    Your pc is a small vacuum cleaner fact!when you switch on your pc your internal fans start to spin to keep the pc and its processor cool which is all good, the negative of this is when fans spins they suck air so in doing so they will suck all the dust from your home into the computer, as heat builds it is a magnet for static and dust to collect and clog the fans and any metal object that is warm, this creates an insulation layer on top of any part that gets warm, the more dust the more layers the hotter every component gets thus leading to slower response time and eventually overheating.
    The solution is quite simple open the pc (all power leads disconnected) and blow all the dust away clean the fans and pay special attention to the fan and heat sink on the processor these are easily removed and cleaned, you can either use a small paint brush and vacuum or you can buy a small tin of compressed air from a local diy shop, if you are using compressed air please note take the pc outside as the dust will go everywhere..Some before and after pics of what a pc should look like inside…
    before.jpg before 2.jpg after cleaning.jpg